Commitment

There is a Tease Studio Showcase in August. I have been waffling for a month over whether I will perform or not.

Performing is scary. I’m new to this sport. I don’t really know what I’m doing. I train a lot of hours, but I have no idea how to go about choreographing a dance. Or picking a song, for that matter. Or a costume. Or makeup. I’m not as good as other performers. August 17th is not very much time to prepare. Since I don’t know how to do it, I’ll probably need private lessons, which are expensive.

The list goes on. The idea of showcasing my pole dancing is terrifying, particularly since I’ve never done it.

Indecision is worse though, really.

I want to compete in a pole dance competition. One of the best ways to prepare for competition is performing. Therefore I should perform. It’s really that simple. I know the goal, so my actions should match up with what I want to accomplish.

This last month or so of waffling has done nothing but distract me from my goal- and cost me preparation time.  Time that I have spent making excuses could have been spent starting choreography, or learning new pole moves, or stretching.

So, I’m doing what I should have done in the first place. I’m performing in August. Hopefully I won’t be awful- but if I am I can perform again. And again. Until I get it right. That’s what training is about.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Yay for performing! It will be a learning experience if nothing else. But now on to the important stuff…where are the pictures of your shoes? Are you wearing the crazy shoes? Shoes shoes shoes!

    Reply
  2. Alright, Sumiko. I promise I will leave a shoe post sometime soon. And possibly one about clothes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

