Crunched

So, despite what it might seem like on this blog for the next several months, I’m not giving up on pole.

I’m having a crisis right now. In my infinite confidence in my own abilities, I thought that it would be brilliant to train for pole, attend school full time, and continue to work a full time job.

Wrong.

My body is aching constantly, and more from being hunched over my computer than from trying crazy pole moves. I’m irritable. I’m stressed. I’m not all that much fun to be around. Also… I’m broke. Being the disciplined, I will accomplish everything, let me make a budget for that nut that I am, this is a weird place for me.

Next semester, I’ll drop back down to being a half time student, but in the meantime, something has to go. And it has to be pole (cue wailing and gnashing of teeth).

Since I can’t really just not work out without losing my sanity, and my next major fitness event is going to be a Tough Mudder, I’m trying to focus on fast, free workouts I can do right next to my house that focus on endurance. I’m still training for pole. I’m still hoping to eventually compete in pole. But for now, pole only is going to be about an hour a week.

For the rest of the time, I’m going to ­_____________. I’m not really sure. It’s been a while since I’ve made my own workouts. I know running will feature heavily into my workouts. I have access to a gym for free on my campus, so maybe I’ll re-aquaint myself with weight training. My brother got me an awesome TRX suspension trainer, so maybe I’ll head to the park and try that out. Whatever I do, I’m sure you’ll be reading about it here.

In the meantime, does anyone else have any ideas on fun workouts that don’t take long and will help me clear my mind of abstract scholarly texts and real life problems? I’m listening.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. ugh, I know allll these feels 😛 hope things get better for ya!

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’m sure they will get better… just got to trudge through for a while.

      Reply
  2. pursuitofhappieness

     /  March 7, 2013

    have you tried tabata style workouts? sets of 20 s on with 10 s rests, 8 sets which makes 4 minutes. you sweat like a beast and i know from personal experience that sweating like a beast sure helps as a stress buster! all the best and keep trudging on, lady 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes! I love them! I get mine from We Shall Have Pie blog (http://weshallhavepie.com/) I think they post them once a week or so. Thanks for your support! I’m sure I’ll make it through, just maybe not as quickly as I’d like.

      Reply
  1. 10 Pole Dance Questions | poledancecompetition

Leave a Reply

