Acrobatics in Beijing

I had big plans for visiting a pole studio while I was in Beijing. I wanted to say that I had pole danced internationally, and, honestly, I wanted something to write about since I’ve been gone for a while. I even found a studio online (you can check out their website here.)

The problem was that there’s a lot of cool stuff in Beijing. I wound up doing a lot of famous tourist things, like visiting the Forbidden City, the Summer Palace, Old Summer Palace, Pearl Market, and 986 Art District. I did some homework, because I was there for school after all. I visited Fragrant Hills Gardens and accidentally ended up climbing a mountain, which made me feel better about not dancing because I was definitely getting a workout. Ditto for the Great Wall. I also dutifully stretched every couple of days, and I even ran and did pull-ups once.

The one pole-related thing that I did do was to go to a performance by Beijing Chaoyang Theater Acrobatics World. I’m counting it as pole related because it included dance, crazy acrobatics, hand balancing, and a woman with a really gorgeous toe point. Some of the team exercises made me really want to do a doubles routine with some of this badass stuff (are you reading, Harper? I’m talking to you). I didn’t get a lot of photos or video because I was busy gaping with my mouth open, but I did get this segment.

Image

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

