Three things I wish I would have known before starting pole

1.    Take photos and videos early.

One of my biggest regrets (OK, one of my only regrets) about pole is that I did not start taking photos and videos of myself earlier. One of the most rewarding things about pole is watching yourself progress, and the earlier you start taking photos and videos, the clearer you will see that progression. Watching videos of yourself will also help prevent bad habits, like failing to point your toes.

Here is one of my first jades. Not pretty.... I'm pretty sure it's better now, but I can't actually find an after picture. Perhaps I should specify both before and after photos and videos are good.

Here is one of my first jades. Not pretty…. I’m pretty sure it’s better now, but I can’t actually find an after picture. Perhaps I should specify both before and after photos and videos are good.

2.    It’s OK to ask for help.

When I first started training for pole, I had the idea in my head that I should only ask the instructor for help. This is really limiting, because there are so many things you can learn from your fellow students. Asking for help is what ends up helping you make friendships, and it also helps your technique. Being asked for help forces you to think about where you are connected to the pole and how to do certain moves. Everyone wins if you ask. Don’t wait so long to start.

Make friends by asking for help with pole or stretching or pretty much anything. Ask sooner rather than later.

Make friends by asking for help with pole or stretching or pretty much anything. Ask sooner rather than later.

3.    Don’t be so cautious to try new levels

I was really hesitant to move up to new levels at first, because I wasn’t sure if I “had” stuff from the previous level well enough. This ended up limiting me, and there wasn’t really a reason for it. Make sure you have the minimum requirements, obviously, but don’t wait until you can do every move from the previous level perfectly. A better option would be to move forward, skip anything you can’t do yet, and continue to train at the previous levels at the same time.

This is part of a blog hop! To read other blogs about things people wish they had know before starting pole, please click here.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Oh wow, I hadn’t noticed you had already titled yours “Three things..” what a great number 😀 I am finally breaking through my reluctance to take pictures of my not-so-stellar progress, hopefully I am starting in time. That’s definitely a great tip!

    I also adore that you have some stretching help! I organize group video chat online so I miss out on that. There is just something so hardcore-dancer about partner stretching.

    Reply
    • Ha ha, three is an excellent number, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading your post too! Partner stretching is one of my favorite parts of training- if you can find someone to pair with, by all means do it! Especially if you have a skillful coach who can help prevent you from hurting yourself… Thanks for stopping by my blog!

      Reply
  1. Three Things I Wish I Would Have Known Before Starting Pole - PoleFreaks Community
  2. Leibster Award (Whatever that Means) | poledancecompetition
  3. Pole Dance Blog Hop 1 Year Anniversary | Pole Dancing Bloggers
  4. Best of Pole Dance Competition Blog 2013 | poledancecompetition

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

