Tough Mudder! Updated with Pictures!

I made it through my first Tough Mudder!

Brian and I pose at the finish line to show how clean we were after the race. Except that we took the picture before running.

Brian and I pose at the finish line to show how clean we were after the race. Except that we took the picture before running.

My brother ran with me. To be more accurate, he skipped in circles around me and kind of shoved me through the obstacles. There was an obstacle called the Wounded Warrior Carry, where he pretty much threw me over his shoulder and started sprinting.

Brian dragging me through yet another obstacle. What an awesome brother!

Brian dragging me through yet another obstacle. What an awesome brother!

 

And another one again. Noticing a theme?

And another one again. Noticing a theme?

Despite being completely shown up by my incredibly athletic brother, I’m very happy with my performance, especially considering how little training I’ve done over the last month or so. I think we finished in about three and a half hours. I was able (with some help) to complete most of the obstacles. I struggled a bit with the cold- it was rainy and windy for part of the race, which is not ideal when you are soaking wet and dressed for warm weather. Now I’m excited to get back into pole training. Which might take a few more days, I’m still really sore.

Notice the purple on my arm? That's from a log I had to climb over. I will update with actual race day pics as soon as I get my camera back!

Notice the purple on my arm? That’s from a log I had to climb over. I will update with actual race day pics as soon as I get my camera back!

Here is my advice if you ever decide to run a Tough Mudder:

  1. Commit. If you are going to run it, make sure you finish the damn thing. Don’t allow failure to be an option. This is pretty much my standard advice for anything you want to achieve. Do not have a back up plan. Just do what you need to do.
  2. Run in a team. Preferably a team that has someone really strong to motivate you and help you with obstacles.
  3. Be a team – the promotional stuff say that everyone running is a team, and it’s true. I got help from all sorts of people besides my brother, and my favorite part was giving people a hand out of some of the obstacles. It’s nice to help others, even if they only need help because they are crazy like you and signed up for it…

    One of the few moments during the race where I was ahead of my brother.

    One of the few moments during the race where I was ahead of my brother.

  4. I read that you should wear compression pants instead of baggy shorts, which is what I did. I didn’t feel like they helped at all, but I did feel like it was impossible to put them back on after stopping in the bathrooms. If I did it again, I would go with baggy shorts.
  5. Watch the rocks under the water. I scraped up my calves pretty thoroughly.

    Watch for rocks! My elbows also look like this, and I've got some good bruises and blisters. Still fun though.

    Watch for rocks! My elbows also look like this, and I’ve got some good bruises and blisters. Still fun though.

  6. If you have an inhaler or anything else that needs to go with you, put it in a plastic bag and tuck it into your bra. Works perfectly.
  7. They do have a bag check, something I really, really wish I had figured out before because we were frozen by the time we got out and really could have used dry clothes (my brother was shivering so much he couldn’t even hold his free beer!)
  8. Run on Saturday. We did it on Sunday, and then had to rush off to drive home. It would have been way more fun to run Saturday, go and party with all the other runners Saturday night, and then head home on Sunday.
  9. If you are on a diet, make sure your running day is cheat day. If I could have injected hamburgers and pizza and ice cream into my body post-run, I would have done it. As it was, I shoveled a hefty portion of food into my mouth.

10. When you train, train on hills, not just flat. It matters.

Look! I actually ran for part of the run.

Look! I actually ran for part of the run.

11. Smile while you run, or at least try not to look miserable. You smile when you are winning and being successful. It really helps.

This guy knows how to smile when he runs. I'm lurking in the background.

This guy knows how to smile when he runs. I’m lurking in the background.

12. Get your own spectator! My brother’s wife cheered for us the whole time, took pictures, and helped us figure out how to function after we were done. She also drove home, which I am sure was much safer based on my lack of fine motor skills post-event.

Teddi cheered for us through the whole thing and took most of these awesome pictures.

Teddi cheered for us through the whole thing and took most of these awesome pictures.

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Great post! We’re running a Warrior Dash and a Spartan Race this summer and are so pumped! Thanks for the tips.

    Reply
  2. Thank you – I will definitely keep these in mind. I’m doing Spartan next month and Tough Mudder this fall. Very helpful 🙂

    Reply
    • Sweet! So worth it. You will enjoy, especially if you put in the work and train for it. Let me know how it goes.

      Reply
  1. The Cure for What Ails You | poledancecompetition

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

