Goodbye, Cheese and Beer!

No more quesadillas for me...

No more quesadillas for me…

Cheese needs to go away. I have been reluctant to cut it out because I don’t make changes to my diet that I can’t keep, and cheese is delicious and really convenient (it takes about 5 minutes to make a delectable, melty, tummy-filling quesadilla, which is great on a weeknight between work and class).

Unfortunately, relationships can’t work on convenience and good taste alone. The last few times I’ve had my standard quesadilla meal, it makes me feel heavy and sluggish. The entire point of keeping a diet is to feel light and energetic, so it’s been clear that the cheese is sabotaging the diet.

After pondering other dinner options, I’ve decided to make the cut. I’ll still be allowed fancy special cheeses in my salad as a garnish, but cheese as a food item is off the list. I used the last of it last night. Now I hope to keep a giant container of sloppy joe or taco or fajita stuff on hand, so that I can quickly throw together a healthier dinner.

I’ve also decided to cut alcohol, which is turning out to be harder than I expected. I don’t drink much at all, but what I didn’t anticipate was a whole slew of happy hour type events. Since I can’t drink soda or juice either, it can be a bit awkward. Particularly if someone wants to buy you a drink…

So long, alcohol!

So long, alcohol!

My compromise, so that I can be sure that my diet is both attainable and desirable, is to increase my cheat days. I now have cheat days once a week, instead of twice a month. I feel good about this, because the diet is stricter. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I read the title of this and immediately thought, “…is a fate worse than death.” 😐 good luck, and my condolences!!! (but congrats on being a strong willed bad-ass) 😀

    Reply
  2. Alyssa

     /  July 31, 2013

    Try the dish I told you about! Instead of cheese do peppers and onions and cook quesadilla style. You could probably add a shmidgen of fancy cheese for a little taste and texture. It’s delicious!

    Reply
  1. Hello Again, Alcohol! | poledancecompetition

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

