Social Media in Pole Dance- Get Off Your Ass and Into Your Studio!

If you want to actually read about how social media impacts pole dance, check out the blog hop here, because this blog is about why social media can be detrimental to pole.

 

Before I jump right into my rampage, I want to state for the record that social media is not evil. It’s a powerful tool to connect, to reach out to other dancers, to learn tips and tricks to improve your dance, to be inspired by all the videos posted on YouTube. Obviously, I write a blog that I think you should read, so I see at least some benefit in social media as a tool for pole dance.

 

However.

 

At the risk of sounding like a cranky person born before the advent of computers and unwilling to embrace anything new, get off your damn phone/tablet/computer!

 

Each person is allotted exactly 24 hours per day to accomplish whatever they want out of life. No one is told how many of these 24 hour pieces they will get. Don’t spend all of them watching and reading pole stuff. (Except my blog, of course. You should always read and subscribe to my blog.)

 

Do you really want to spend all of them Instagramming pole dance moves? You should allot more time to expressing yourself through dance and movement, and less time watching other people do so. Watching videos on Youtube is not a substitute for practice. It does not count toward the 10,000 hours of practice that Malcolm Gladwell posits are the secret to becoming great. Social media doesn’t really do a lot of anything. Get off your ass and into the studio.

 

I also despise how limiting social media is in terms of who pole dances. I have many facebook friends who post about pole dance. Almost nothing they post shows any diversity in body size and shape, age, economic background, dance style, gender, or even race. Fuck that. Pole dance can be for everyone, and I feel like social media plays a huge role in excluding others.

 

I also notice a lot of pole based “fitspiration” memes on social media. I’ve written about Fitspiration before. To summarize. I think it is very, very bad. Fitspiration memes imply that if you practice pole hard enough and eat well enough, than you too can look like a really well muscled Barbie doll or the airbrushed model on a fitness magazine. Fitness is about what you can do, not what you look like. Pole dance is about what you can do and how you can express yourself, not about looking great in booty shorts, having no body fat, and having perfect skin. Ugh!

 

Finally, there is growing research that indicates that people are not making deep, meaningful connections with each other because they are making lots of superficial connections with people online. Looking for pole inspiration or support is not as fun or effective as doing so in person, face to face.

 

As I said in the beginning, social media does have a place, so what follows are my suggestions about how to use social media appropriately.

  • Decide how much time you want to spend on social media, and then follow through and limit yourself to that much time. Spend the saved time in the dance studio.
  • Think about the images you see in social media, and decide if they reflect your values (which hopefully include inclusiveness) before sharing.
  • Use social media for specific purposes. If you want help nailing a certain move, look for that, or if you are looking to connect with other pole dancers, look for that. Don’t browse aimlessly.
  • Read my blog!
  • Avoid fitspiration like the plague that it is. Seriously. Fitspiration is evil. Keep it out of your life.
  • If you must use social media, combine it with your face-to-face activities. I want to do a doubles performance someday, so I invited a few friends over, grabbed some snacks, and we all watched doubles videos together and chatted about what we liked and how hard it may be to do the things that we saw. Fun, and it made sure that social media wasn’t replacing face-to-face contact.
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I think the key takeaway for me is don’t browse aimlessly. I think social media is a great way to build community and has many benefits but it has to be focuses. There needs to be a purpose and such. Therefore, aimlessness is a no-no. You’re spunky. I like that! LOL

    Reply
    • Thanks for reading. I agree that social media does have many benefits, and I’m glad you enjoy the spunkiness!

      Reply
  2. Cara

     /  August 15, 2013

    Really enjoyed reading this and I agree with quite a bit of it! I love the term fitspiration–your take on it is so very true. I would also offer the opinion that a picture of someone who poles for a living doing some hard trick or looking great along with a meme about how hard work will get you where you want to be is not inspiring. I’m inspired by seeing an amateur who also has a law degree doing it but if you do pole for your job, then you ought to be good at it. It would be weird if I posted pictures of myself operating and told people if they just work hard enough they too can save lives. That’s my job; I ought to be good at it. And the reality is, no matter how hard they work, unless they quit what they are doing an go to med school, they are not going to be able to do what i do as well as I do it. Nor should we all expect that unless we quit our jobs and pole full time should we be able to pole as well as the professionals. People who perpetuate that myth are doing more to discourage regular people in their pole journey. whoa, ok, didn’t mean to tangent there. thanks for the place to vent.

    Reply
    • That’s a great point- you should be good at your job, so it’s not really fair to compare amateurs against pros. I love your example of yourself operating. Thanks for reading, I hope you come back again!

      Reply
  1. Keeping Up With the Joneses: On Social Media | The Spin Diaries
  2. August Blog Hop: My favourite pole dance videos on Youtube - Go POLE! or Go Home | Go POLE! or Go Home
  3. Best of Pole Dance Competition Blog 2013 | poledancecompetition

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

