Focus on Freestyle: Hands

The other night, my coach instructed us to focus on our hands during our freestyle dance. I really loved the idea of cleaning up small details that make big impact, so I’ll be featuring a Focus on Freestyle on this blog periodically.

I’ll start where my coach started- with the hands. She pointed out hands are critical to being expressive, and said that most dancers’ hands look like they are floating through water. During your next free style, focus on making sure your hands extend gracefully in all your movements. For more inspiration, check out the following links:

Dance Spirit Magazine: A Show of Hands

Hands: Classical Hand Training

Expressive Hand Movements

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. hands and feet (and wrists and ankles) make SUCH a difference… they really show your level of control and engagement. Thanks for the inspo!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks for reading! I’m hoping to do one of these “Focus on Freestyle” pieces every month, especially if people like them. It helps me to try to think of just one piece at a time.

      Reply
  2. polerinadancer

     /  August 8, 2013

    Yes! I’m always correcting students on their hands, its such a beautiful part of dance!

    Reply
    • I agree. Your hands are very expressive if you use them correctly. I wish you could correct mine!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

