Why Being Too Injured to Pole is Awesome?

So…. I severely strained a muscle in the side of my back doing this really cool move called the batwing. When I say severely, I mean that I was in pain immediately, and then woke up at 4 am in even more pain over a week after it happened and cried all the way to the doctor’s office. Now I’m grounded from pole and stuck taking lots of Ibuprofen, resting, and icing instead of dancing. In an effort to be a glass half full type of person, here are the best parts about being injured.

  1. I have time to write more blogs about pole! Seriously, I have the next two months already written. Lucky you, readers!
  2. I can paint my toenails without the paint being immediately scraped off. I’m thinking pink; I’ve been feeling kind of girly lately.
  3. I can wear lotion! I forgot how nice my skin looks when it’s not covered in dry hands and flaking off from lack of moisture.
  4. On a related note, the callouses on my hands have subsided to the point where I can wipe my nose without drawing blood wherever my callouses scrape my skin. I think I’ll need to be injured for several more weeks (possibly months) before I have soft hands though.
  5. I can watch more pole videos on YouTube!
  6. I think my toe point is getting better, since pretty much the only exercising I’m doing is to flex and point my toes. Maybe I’ll be able to be a ballerina after this. Like a really uncoordinated but strong caterpillar who is really bad at metaphors who gets stuck in a cocoon like injury and then emerges as a ballerina pole dancer.
  7. Based on what I wrote in number 6, I think I better list pain medication as a benefit.
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. God, I’ve had 3 days off in a row and I’ve been BATHING in lotion, but still don’t have the heart to redo the pedicure that’s scraped off of both big toes 😐 Love this list, hope you heal up soon!!

    Reply
  2. Super cute post. Hope you feel better soon! Oh, and get a shellac pedi!

    Reply
  3. Hope you feel better soon!! Love this list. 🙂

    I found your blog yesterday by searching “pole dance” on Bloglovin. I’ve been so interested in pole dance lately but haven’t signed up yet. But I’ve been totally obsessed with reading pole blogs and watching videos on youtube (the pole dance video to “Breezeblocks” by Alt-J (there’s only one, it’s easy to find!) is seriously one of my faves right now….wow! Oh and the video titled “best Pole Dance ever” by AOS72117…probably watched it 10 times already. She’s amazing!) . Seriously you ladies make it looks sooo easy! Hopefully I get the chance to sign up for some classes one of these days. Love the blog!

    Reply
  4. Haven’t done any pole since June when term finished at uni, have been fantasising about it almost solidly since then, just found a class nearby and starting next week – Weirdly really looking forward to the bruises! Haha. Hope you’re recovered and back to it soon 🙂

    Reply
    • Enjoy! Arnica cream is great for bruises, although I kind of like them because they make me feel more hardcore. Have fun in your classes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

