Balance (not the work/pole/life kind)

Balance is one of many skills that needs to be trained for any type of dance- even pole. I say “even pole” because one of the things that I initially liked about pole was that there was a pole there I could grab onto if I felt like I was falling. Balance and coordination are not really my strong points.

Anyways, you can’t always just grab onto the pole and even if you could, it wouldn’t be graceful or sexy or artistic or anything that I want my dancing to be. Balance is not an optional skill. Eric Franklin has a lot of ideas about balance that I hope might be useful.

In a nutshell, Franklin explains that there are many different systems in your body that create balance- your vision, vestibular organs, and your muscles themselves. If you get in the habit of moving your body ineffectively, all of these balance structures will adjust for the inefficient movement. What this does is make it so that you will feel off balance if you start moving in more efficient, balanced ways.

Franklin suggests a series of exercises to help correct this- most of the exercises having to do with how you visualize your body working and what imagery you use to reduce muscle tension. For example, he suggests that you try focusing on what muscles is tightening to perform an exercise, and then try it again but focus on what muscle you must relax to get into the exercise. Since muscles always work in pairs, you can always do both visualizations. Thinking about it explicitly helps you find better balance.

He also suggests some “extreme balancing” exercises, such as balancing on balls. He argues that balancing on the floor will be easier, because balancing on balls forces you to re-train your muscles so that you don’t fall. I would be interested in trying this with the wire rope things that people tie onto trees and balance on in the park.

What balance training do you do? Does anyone have any tips or suggestions?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I have pretty horrible balance, but I feel like my aerial yoga classes are helping a lot. Doing planks, handstands, etc. with your feet in the hammock forces you to really stabilize with your core, and it gets a little easier every time 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yoga and Pilates help me with balance as I’ve always heard your core helps your balance. I need to get working on both since I have gotten way out of shape!

    Reply
    • I haven’t done yoga in a really long time, it may be time to get back into it. Great suggestion, thanks!

      Reply
  3. Alyssa

     /  November 11, 2013

    I started taking other non-pole dances classes. One thing I’ve found helpful is practicing the prep for pirouettes. My balance has improved more in the last 3 weeks than it has in the last 2 years!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

