A Life Vision Instead of a Resolution

For this new year, I wanted to share my vision of what I want my whole life to be like instead of focusing on resolutions or goals. My vision statement follows.

I radiate discipline, integrity, courage, compassion, and curiosity because I live my life according to those values. My life is full of love, laughter, and kindness (except to squirrels). My life is full, and I am fulfilling my purpose of connecting people to things that make their lives bigger, fuller, and more interesting. In the center of all the fullness of my life, there is space for stillness, skygazing, and watching grass grow.

I make time to watch grass grow.

I make time to watch grass grow.

I am physically, mentally, emotionally, financially, and spiritually strong and resilient. I invest time and energy every day into making myself better. I am the tree on the rock that creates shelter and space for animals and insects and birds. I suck nourishment out of the bare rock and take root and grow, and everyone around me benefits from my tenacity.

I live my life with purpose and meaning. I work hard. I play hard. I set goals and achieve them and I help other people do the same. I do my best to help the environment by my choices about how to live.  I am generous with my time, skills, resources and compassion. I bring tea to sick people. I make improvements instead of complaints.

I bring tea to sick people.

I bring tea to sick people.

I learn all the time, from books, websites, nature, people, experience and any other way that life teaches me. I take time to reflect on my day and see what I can learn from my experiences. I take at least one minute every night to thank myself for my hard work and the things I’m doing right. I am thankful for my blessings.  I know blessings are always plentiful if you pay attention.

Every day I move my body, through dancing or stretching or weightlifting or hiking or in any other pleasurable way. My movements tell stories.  My body feels really good, because I care for it through my movement and diet and sleep. I am strong and flexible and happy. I tell good stories through my dance and my writing and my life choices. I am playful and curious, and I express this physically every day.

I am in love with a man who loves me back. We support each other in our goals and dreams. We are affectionate and caring toward each other, and towards other people. We are a team. We have plenty of fantastic sex. We make each other better people. We are happy to have each other, even when we are really angry at each other. We make a strong effort to stay connected and to communicate our needs and dreams. We hold hands and kiss every day. He doesn’t get angry if I forget our anniversary.

I live in a quiet home near a stream, with chickens and plants and my spouse. We have a tree that provides shade in the summer, and we often eat and sleep outside. Our house is vibrant with colors and company and love. We are excellent hosts.

I am a part of my community and it is vibrant, diverse, fun. People help each other. I give time, love, energy, connections, and money back to my community to the best of my ability. I am a leader in my own space.

I am whole, in every sense that humans can be whole.

Playful and curious, I said.

Playful and curious, I said.

To read more about intentions for the New Year, click here.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I love how optimistic and positive this is! I feel like too often, people use resolutions to focus on everything that is “wrong” about them and how to fix it, and this is the exact opposite, focusing instead on how you’re already awesome. What a way to start the new year!

    Reply
    • Thanks! I love the idea of visioning- I actually wrote this several months ago, and decided to share it on my log for the New Year. Writing out what I want out of my life, both in terms of things I want to accomplish and in terms of who I want to be, helps me stay focused on what matters to me.

      Reply
    • I had the same thought as Nina–this exudes positive vibes. What a nice interpretation of your visioning for the new year, I hope you continue to take time to watch grass grow and be playful!

      Reply
  2. I love how we all seem to be focusing on what fills our lives instead of what we think we need to change – love this!

    Reply
  3. Just lovely. It’s hard to read this, and not feel uplifted by your spirit. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you! What a lovely compliment. I am uplifted by so many people, I’m glad I can give back a little.

      Reply
  4. This is who I want to be when I grow up.

    Reply
  5. I like it Kim!!! I’m borrowing your vision too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

