Back to the Basics

Lately, whenever I free dance, I am incredibly sloppy. I know exactly why- I’m spending way fewer hours in the studio. My new commute saps a lot of time and energy, and I don’t have much of either to spare. Right now my priority is work and school, so dancing has taken a cut.

 

Because my brain is not in dancing, I kind of stumble around a lot thinking, “what should I do? Is this over yet? Gah…”

 

Until a few nights ago. I was tired and fed up and all I wanted to do was roll around on the floor and do fan kicks. Instead of panicking and reprimanding myself that because I’m limited on time I should work on the things I need to work on, I rolled around and did body rolls and played for a while. I think I only did one invert the entire time.

 

Fun. Like dance is supposed to be fun.

 

I think the bigger problem is that it is critical to constantly go back and take classes at all levels, to remind yourself of how far you’ve come, to clean things up, and to boost your self esteem. And when all else fails, just feel free to do lots of hair flips and fireman spins. You don’t need to be on all the time to have a great dance.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. This is something I’ve been working on a lot lately too, freestyling without doing big tricks, just a couple of spins here and there, and lots of yummy floorwork and dance-y stuff. And it always, always makes me feel better:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

