Want to Rock Your Resolutions? Get an Attitude About It

Last semester, my professor gave our class some advice about finishing our papers, which I think was actually some of the best advice about life I’ve ever received. He told us to put the writing first, before teaching or relaxing or any other responsibility. He went on to say:

You’ve got to start having an attitude. You are writers, you are poets, you are artists.

Damn!

When you start applying that to whatever your art is, you take it up a notch. For example, one of the reasons that I tend to be successful on my diet is because I of my attitude. As far as I’m concerned, I’m a dancer. Dancers simply don’t down pints of ice cream.

If I’m not making it to the studio all that often, I lose the attitude and it becomes way more difficult for me to be successful with either my diet or my conditioning.

Choose who you want to be, and then start making choices that make you more similar to that ideal self. The more choices you make to support that, the more you will believe yourself.

You are a dancer. What do dancers eat? How do they care for their bodies? How do they train? Did they skip going to training to go to the movies? Take it a step farther- what kind of dancer do you want to be? How are you building your community, helping others, and making dance matter? Get an attitude about it. Make it happen.

To read more about intentions, goals, and resolutions, check out the blog hop!

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

