16 Snacks for Hungry People

So, something that invariably happens to me whenever I kick up my workout a notch or two is that I become hungry. Constantly. As if I had a parasite living in my belly, which I don’t think that I do. Looking in fancy health magazines leads to a lot of pre-packaged, sometimes sugary, tasteless expensive diet food. Blech. To address this common problem for athletes, here are my snack suggestions:

  1. Celery and peanut butter. Celery alone is pretty worthless for making you feel fuller.
  2. Plain greek yogurt, maybe with a tiny bit of honey. Flavored yogurts have too much sugar.
  3. Apples and peanut butter.
  4. Spoonfuls of peanut butter. Clearly, I’m a fan of this stuff.
  5. Apple and cheese
  6. Cheese and salami
  7. Cheese sticks. I actually have stopped eating cheese, but if you eat it these are great.
  8. Triscuit crackers and olives
  9. bowl of plain shredded wheat cereal (frosted shredded wheat has too much sugar. Sorry)
  10. Bananas, if you like them. Also good with peanut butter.
  11. Hummus with triscuits or vegetables
  12. Walnuts mixed with Craisins
  13. Leftovers.
  14. A mini salad.
  15. Hard boiled eggs. Particularly with salt and pepper
  16. Baked sweet potatoes.
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

