Not Work Appropriate

I think my body craves pole things, and sometimes it’s annoying when I can’t just get into a handstand anyplace I want.

I tend to do dancer kicks whenever I fill my water bottle in the lounge at my work. The other day there were actually people in the lounge. I was a little annoyed, mostly because I couldn’t practice my dancer kicks, maintain my professional dignity and be in the same room as other people all at the same time. Only two out of three. One of my friends told me that there were footprints on the bathroom wall at her work because she would pop into a handstand anytime she needed to pop into the loo.

In this spirit, here is a list of pole stuff I’ve done at work when (I think) no one was watching:

  • Cartwheels
  • Ballet leaps (not well)
  • Pirouettes (really not well- these are not my strong point)
  • Headstands
  • Handstands
  • Dancer kicks
  • Backbend
  • A sort of reach to the audience into a backbend that will eventually make its way into a performance

I’ve never done body rolls at work, but that could be added to this list too. I could also add a bunch of stuff to the list that aren’t dance moves so much as crazy positions while I try to explain what I’m working on at the studio (so, you look like this, except you’re upside down, and then your leg is further out, and then you can just flip right into this other place, where you hold on with your elbow…)

What dance stuff have you done at work or in other, completely out of context venues?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I find myself doing tiny body rolls and hip circles any time there’s good music on. Work, Whole Foods, CU, it doesn’t matter, I just can’t stand still. And while I don’t do anything that specifically relates to pole at work, my boss knows I do pole, and therefore makes me do all the heavy lifting. So that’s one way of building strength while making money, I guess 🙂

    Reply
    • That’s kind of awesome. I really dislike it when people leave heavy lifting to the men. I find it insulting, especially since I’m stronger than most of them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

