Top 10 things I Love in My Pole Coaches

When it comes to pole coaches, one of the things that I love is that everyone has something different to offer. Here’s my list of what I look for in coaches.

In case I don't write it enough on this blog... my coach is amazing!

In case I don’t write it enough on this blog… my coach is amazing!

  1. Safety. I appreciate it when class or coaching pushes me just beyond my comfort level- not completely out of my league to the point where it is unsafe.
  2. Spotting. On a similar note, I like it when I feel like I’m not going to be dropped on my head when I’m being spotted in a new move. On the flip side, I don’t like being over-spotted because then I can’t feel where I need to be connected to the pole.
  3. Encouragement. I love it when my coaches pep me up and make me think I can do something, and when they cheer wildly when I sort of half ways almost do a new move. Doubly true when I completely nail a new move.
  4. Specialization. Everyone has particular things that they are really great at, and I love learning from people doing their favorites. This is why I really recommend seeing lots of coaches.
  5. Breaking it down. Some coaches are absolutely fantastic at breaking down new moves into little, easy to understand pieces.
  6. Putting it together. Other coaches love helping you add that new pole move into a pass that looks well put together.
  7. Cross training. I love it when a coach tells me what non-pole stuff will help me.
  8. Homework. Some coaches give you homework that you can do on your own time. I love this, especially when it’s stuff that will help you make the most out of your next session.
  9. Injury advice. I’ve been recently injured, and I loved that my coach took several minutes after my first class back to tell me exactly what sorts of ointments are helpful, where I could go for acupuncture and massage, and how important it is to do extra warm-up on that muscle as I start to get going again.

10. Clean up. I love it when pretty much anyone says “point your toes! What are you doing?” I love it even more when someone cleans up less obvious aspects of performance.

Bonus: If you ever get the opportunity to train with the fabulous Estee Zakar, take it! She’s amazing. I also highly recommend pretty much any Tease Studio instructor if you’re in Denver.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dorien

     /  February 16, 2014

    Estée was my very first instructor when she was in Los Angeles. She got me inverting in two classes. She’s amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Click here to receive new posts by email,

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Posts & Pages

