Miss me? Get Used to It…

I have not been updating much recently, and that will continue for the foreseeable future.

 

I’m simplifying everything in my life right now. And I do mean everything… I’ve thrown away a lot of things I own. I combined some bank accounts into one. I redecorated my cubicle, mostly by taking things off the walls. I threw most of it away. I took all but 8 items down from my goals board.

 

I have also cancelled my pole membership. I am close to canceling my phone service too.

 

I’ve been working towards many, many goals for a long time. Because I’ve been working towards so many, my progress has been incremental.

 

I’m fed up.

 

I need focus.

 

And because it’s me, and I do nothing by halves, this is my approach, I’m just getting rid of things, commitments, appointments, subscriptions, even ideas.

 

I scheduled in about two hours a week to work on the 6 of the items on my goals board. The only fitness goal that made the cut was to do a minute and a half of handstands every morning. I am adding three hours a week of generic maintenance exercise.

 

When I make my to do list in the morning, I am only allowing myself to add one item. A single thing to focus on, dedicate my time to, and finish.

 

I will not take this approach for forever, but psychologically, I desperately need some progress. Progress only comes from hours (in pole or in any other endeavor)- and so I’m putting my hours toward one thing at a time for a while.

 

I will still post to this blog, but probably only once a month or so, until I’m mentally in a place where I can do more. I’m sure as I post I’ll let you know how my experiment in focus is going.

 

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Colin DeWaay

     /  May 2, 2014

    Good for you, taking control! I hope things work out well for you.

    Reply
  1. On Faith | poledancecompetition
  2. Paring Down (Sort Of) | poledancecompetition

Leave a Reply

